Eccentric and Bent

Come on a fantastic voyage in the backwaters of my mind.

Earth/bound


She is our Mother.  Like disobedient children we are ignoring her pleadings.  We ignore her lessons in pursuit of the shiny man-made items that the TV tells us we all need. In pursuit of greed, we have become disconnected from her.  We no longer dance or sing her praises. We no longer treat her children kindly.  We no longer seek her wisdom. We feel that she has to keep providing for our own selfish desires.  We are clogging her arteries.  We are gouging scars into her skin. We are darkening her lungs with our exhaust. We throw our trash all over her.  We have divided and subdivided her so that we no longer have communities. We constantly harangue and molest her but expect her to stand strong in support of us. I mean that is what a mother is supposed to do, right?

Well, her anger is becoming quite evident.  She is shaking, quaking, blowing hot, blowing cold, and dousing us with water. She is trying to scratch us off her back like a dog scratches away fleas. (I mean honestly, we have stopped being her loving children and become parasites.) Her love now has conditions placed upon it. Heed her warnings or be left floundering when she finally takes away her love.

This is the truth that I have learned as I get ready to enter my fourth decade.  It is only by trying to learn about my ancestors and how they lived that I have realized how far from the path we have strayed.  I know that it is time to lessen my impact on the matrix. While I’ll never give up all of my modern conveniences I can figure out ways to keep them from hurting the Mother.

My dream is to live as far off the grid as possible. I see that my solution is nature.  The first step would be to find a plot of land that I could “borrow”. (The idea of land ownership needs to be given up. I believe that concept is part of the reason we are disconnected from nature.  Land ownership gives a false sense of being apart from nature.)  I would build a subterranean home or one made from the materials indigenous to the area in which I would reside. An underground home has been proven to reduce heating and cooling costs in the desert metropolis I live in. A home from indigenous materials would do the same if it was built with the natural world in mind.  Adobe homes maintain their temperatures by adding breezeways, ceiling vents, natural insulation, and other features.  Either of these homes would contain solar panels, windmills, and gardens. Just like plants, solar panels transform the sun into energy. The windmill would be backup on those rare cloudy days. I would try to achieve 100% electric independence.  The gardens would be provide food and medicine.  This would reduce my dependency upon gasoline by lessening the items needing to be purchased from the store. In order to irrigate my gardens, I would use recycled water and rain water caught in an underground tank. I hope I can find a natural aquifer to tap for a well, otherwise I will have to depend on the matrix to provide that need. (Gotta have a reliable water source, especially if you live in the desert.) Once my home was sustainable, I would open it to others seeking communion with the Mother.

Each morning would begin by greeting Brother Sun and singing his praises.  For without him we would be lost in darkness. We would spend our days learning the lessons of the Mother.  We could observe how her other children lived in harmony with her and emulate them. We could remember our ancestors and how they lived on the land before they became civilized. We would be able to remember when we were children and had a sense of wonder.  We could become who we truly are meant to be.

At the very least I would be able to heed the lessons and admonitions of the Mother. I believe that the biggest one is to live in love with the natural world and all things in it. I think that she wants us to understand that we can never truly own her because she is the one who sustains us.  All we can do is try to honor her gifts.

If I ever get a chance to “borrow” a piece of her I will love her as I love myself. I will use what she teaches me to teach others.  Maybe in that way I can help end her frustration. And without the frustration, she may fully embrace us once again.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/02/20/daily-prompt-land/

8 responses to “Earth/bound

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: A Plot of Earth | Joe's Musings

  2. Pingback: This Land Is My Land – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt – A Plot of Earth – Flash Fiction / Short Story – “Losing The Plot” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  4. Pingback: No More Heartaches | The Jittery Goat

  5. dmauldin53 February 20, 2013 at 3:50 PM

    The world needs more people that think like you do. 🙂

    • The Phoenix February 20, 2013 at 4:04 PM

      I am just really starting to learn the lessons that have been offered off and on throughout my time. In reading your post on the daily prompt, I see you had really great teachers and learning environment. I just hope others choose to start learning with me. Thank you for your time and comment. 😀

Tell Me What You Think

thenerdsofcolor

Pop Culture with a Different Perspective

orinstudio

Just another WordPress.com site

Rudy's Ruminations

~ Random thoughts and ruminations from the mind of rudyblues ~

Appleboat Express

Writing Between the Lines

Ron Daise

Singer, Songwriter, Gullah Culture Preservationist

Scott Woods Makes Lists

Everything but laundry and groceries.

Black America Web

Entertainment, News and Lifestyle for African Americans

chachi yaniré

una rosita negrita revolucionaria

Bag'n-telle

Design-It-Yourself handbags

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

Beauty by Sidd

Stay Well, Exude Confidence, Be Beautiful

Being Shadoan

Let the world tremble in my wake

Richard MacManus

Author & Tech Columnist; ReadWrite Founder

mary & mac design

"know what's inside the box before you look outside of it."

Jewellerymaker

All about Jewellery Making: Articles, Tutorials, Video's, Courses & Tips of the trade

Ashlynsully

Lifestyle / Beauty / Fashion

Covert Operations: Alpha

The Official Blog of Author Eugene Nelson Jr.

Womb Of Light

The Power of the Awakened Feminine

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

Isiopolis

A votive Work in honor of the Goddess Isis

Aaron Daniel Writes

Poet, Father, Spiritualist. Painting a world with words.

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

FenderMama Likes

random thoughts and thrifty crafts

SuperGirl Advent

A Humor Blog of Life Adventures

The Urban Daily

Black Music, Movies, Urban News, Celebrity & Hip-Hop

Rare

America's News Feed

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

Eccentric and Bent

Come on a fantastic voyage in the backwaters of my mind.

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

GOOD BLACK NEWS

Your Source For The Good Things Black People Do, Give and Receive All Over The World

Tenderherb's Blog

A peek into my life, with 4 boys & a princess, on a dairy farm. And our journey of overcoming an autoimmune disease and finding health & wellness with natural products.

Galactic Priestess Academy

Astrological Insight and Energetic Empowerment for Women

The Daily Hawk!

scalding hot news right in your face

RED Goddess Journal

The Random Musings of Priestess Brandi Auset

NewsFeed

Breaking news and updates from Time.com. News pictures, video, Twitter trends.

victor's mind

The other perspective: Music, Religion, Society, Life...

littlegirlstory

You are reading the life story of one little Borneo girl (once upon a time), her reminiscences of the past and her present thoughts.

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Disciples Perspective

Join the Conversation. Prepare for the Confrontation.

valeriu dg barbu

©valeriu barbu

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

