Eccentric and Bent

Come on a fantastic voyage in the backwaters of my mind.

Why do Mexican’s hate Blacks? (Or BS they try to make you believe in this society.)


This past Friday we held the homegoing celebration for my grandmother, Mrs. Irene Lujan Primous.  It was a beautiful celebration with family, friends, and community leaders.  The recollections of my grandmother living in her South Phoenix community for over 7 decades were of love, strength, understanding, and acceptance.  So many people felt that she gave them what they lacked from their own family. She offered guidance and love to all who sought it from her.  She was remembered for always using terms of endearments to address everybody; mijo/mija, baby, darling & son/daughter being her favorites.  These were terms not just used for those who shared her blood but for every body she came into contact with.  Her home had an open door and open heart policy.  All she ever wanted was for us to be happy and feel loved. I have made it my goal to share that same love with everyone.  It is the only way I know of that I can truly honor the woman she was. 

Image Image

Due to celebration, I was able to overwhelmed and amazed by how many individuals I with whom I share DNA.  Not only was the amount amazing (She helped raise 32 children [18 were hers and the rest were my grandfather’s offspring], 79 grandchildren, 166 great-grandchildren, 16 great-great-grandchildren and a host of brothers, sisters, nieces, nephews, cousins, and neighborhood kids) but the shades of skin in evidence, from alabaster to ebony. Image ImageImageImageImage We also had representatives from across the USA and Phillipines.  I met quite a few aunts, uncles, and cousins for the first time in my 40 years.  (I missed out on meeting a couple of sisters of mine for the first time.  I am feeling some kind of way about it but that is a topic for another post.) If you listen to the reports out of Southern California, this event should have been full of animosity.  Why?  Well because Mexicans hate Blacks and Blacks hate Mexicans. And at this event there were just as many Mexicans as Blacks. We should have come to blows and engaged in racially charged arguments.   That is edict that has come out of the Southern California Prison System.  Mexicans should racially cleanse the areas they live in.  And of course we, Blacks, should make sure that no Mexicans want to live in our neighborhoods.  There has been article after article investigating this topic. (See this article for more insight: http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/lanow/2013/01/azusa-gang-leader-to-be-sentenced-for-conspiring-to-cleanse-city-of-blacks.html or this one: http://www.latimes.com/news/local/la-me-ramona-gardens-20130411-dto,0,4607165.htmlstory#axzz2l1DU4zum ) It really is a confusing stance to someone like me: a Black woman who can also trace her roots to Mexico and the indigenous peoples of the USA.Image

 I have the blood of Africa and it has given my skin the sun touched beauty of which I am proud. I also have the blood of the Yoeme/ Hiaki/ Yaqui, the blood of the Cherokee, the blood of the Muskogee/Creek, the blood of the Louisiana Creole, and the blood of the Tejano (Texas Mexican) which increased the determination of the warrior that I was blessed with.  All of my roots are appreciated for the knowledge of self and the bravery of heart.  And with such knowledge, to hate another is to hate myself.  I can’t bring myself to do it.  How can I hate my blood/sangre and consider myself sane.  I just can’t do it.  I looked at my family and it reaffirmed what I have always known.  Black and Brown are the same. We have different cultural artifacts but we are the same.  Some of us have a different languages and dialects but we are still the same.  Our histories both contain oppression at the hands of the so called majority.  The same Jim Crow laws for Blacks were used for Mexicans.  The same second class status was assigned to us both. The Panthers were Black and Brown.  Cesar Chavez was a hero for all farm workers and one of his inspirations was Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.  If you don’t understand why the separation of our people is encouraged then you really are still asleep.  I suggest you wake the hell up. Because I need you just like you need me. I know that we can get along.  

I know you may be thinking what does this have to do with anything that is important in my life.  I will tell you.  We all walk around with stereotypes and prejudices in our heads.  Most of us try not to act on them but we do it anyways.  I have been pissed and call somebody a mojado.  Just as I know some of you have been pissed and called somebody a mayate/mallate. I know that it is just as possible that the one I called a racist slur is related to me in ethnicity if not in actual lineage.  We have to remember that looks are deceiving and there is no such thing as a pure race. I am Black because of my skin and my worldview but I am Indigenous because of DNA percentages.  If I am attacking other Indigenous people, I am displaying self hatred that will hurt me more in the long run. I will internalize the thoughts and my own self esteem will be lowered. Each time I lower my self esteem, I will become more likely to lash out at others and myself.  It becomes a cycle of self hate manifested in trying to make others feel less than me.  I will be miserable.  And I will no longer be living the life my grandmother wanted me to live.  Remember I said she wanted us to be happy and feel loved. I will also be cutting myself off from my family. And I just met some of them, why would I want to give them up already. Hell, I don’t even want to give up the known racists because I feel everyone is redeemable.  I know that when we realize that our fates are intertwined we will be an unstoppable force of change. Until then, I leave you with Love and Hugs, Baby. 🙂 

Tell Me What You Think

orinstudio

Just another WordPress.com site

Rudy's Ruminations

~ Random thoughts and ruminations from the mind of rudyblues ~

Appleboat Express

Writing Between the Lines

Ron Daise

Singer, Songwriter, Gullah Culture Preservationist

Scott Woods Makes Lists

Everything but laundry and groceries.

Black America Web

Entertainment, News and Lifestyle for African Americans

negri

una rosita negrita revolucionaria

Bag'n-telle

Design-It-Yourself handbags

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

Beauty by Sidd

Stay Well, Exude Confidence, Be Beautiful

Being Shadoan

Let the world tremble in my wake

Richard MacManus

Author & Tech Columnist; ReadWrite Founder

mary & mac design

"know what's inside the box before you look outside of it."

Jewellerymaker

All about Jewellery Making: Articles, Tutorials, Video's, Courses & Tips of the trade

Covert Operations: Alpha

The Official Blog of Author Eugene Nelson Jr.

Womb Of Light

The Power of the Awakened Feminine

Isiopolis

A votive Work in honor of the Goddess Isis

Aaron Daniel Writes

Poet, Father, Spiritualist. Painting a world with words.

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

FenderMama Likes

random thoughts and thrifty crafts

SuperGirl Advent

Life is an adventure...

The Urban Daily

Black Music, Movies, Urban News, Celebrity & Hip-Hop

Rare

America's News Feed

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

Eccentric and Bent

Come on a fantastic voyage in the backwaters of my mind.

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

GOOD BLACK NEWS

Your Source For The Good Things Black People Do, Give and Receive All Over The World

Tenderherb's Blog

A peek into my life, with 4 boys & a princess, on a dairy farm. And our journey of overcoming an autoimmune disease and finding health & wellness with natural products.

virgo magic

astrology for healing and evolution

The Daily Hawk!

scalding hot news right in your face

RED Goddess Journal

The Random Musings of Priestess Brandi Auset

NewsFeed

Breaking news and updates from Time.com. News pictures, video, Twitter trends.

victor's mind

The other perspective: Music, Religion, Society, Life...

littlegirlstory

You are reading the life story of one little Borneo girl (once upon a time), her reminiscences of the past and her present thoughts.

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Disciples Perspective

Join the Conversation. Prepare for the Confrontation.

valeriu dg barbu

© valeriu barbu

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

Perception Paradox

Ramblings from The Dark Side

